Menopause


Funny nurse story # 1

He’s a respected, prominent, almost elegant if you will, speaking with an exquisite English accent, always dressed to the nines. At 90 something years old, I have often thought while caring for him, wow they just don’t make em like this anymore ! A real class act, a gentleman of the finest caliber.
When asking him how he is feeling, his chipper response “well I’m tip top young lady”
He is on dialysis, and comes for his treatments three days a week, always with some English undertone of “properness”
Now at Dialysis, we nurses and technicians have to “suit up” (thank you so much centers for Medicaid and Medicare) long, white, treacherous, water and blood resistant gowns that are HOT, I mean, HOT and it’s hot for your average health professional … however, I am not your average health professional … I am a registered nurse in menopause (ugh, women never get a break)
So I am putting on this HOT gown with my face mask and shield over my face, (I’m sweating just thinking about it) I program his machine, take his vital signs… and we are conversing this whole while… I now attempt, and I say attempt because I am getting HOT
Like beads of perspiration are beginning to develop on my forehead, and I can feel my core temp starting to rise … I know it’s coming, but I am hopeful I can cannulate two 15 g needles into this lovely gentleman’s fistula in his arm and start his treatment before melting completely … He senses my “uncomfortableness as I am literally blowing into my scrub top and fanning myself … now you can imagine anyone would ask seeing this going on as I am holding a needle in my hand that is going to be stuck into their arm … “ are you alright dear?”
My response is “I’m Hot”
I bend down and assess his arm /fistula
And I begin … and the slightest trickle of a beaded drop of perspiration sides down and actually drips off my nose !! This is when I put the needle down and start taking off my clothes the gown is off ! Poof! The mask is off! The shield is off ! As I’m frantically panting and sweating pulling off all my garb, this lovely 90 something year old gentleman says
“Wow! I haven’t made a woman sweat like that in 30 years! Thank you so much Bonnalyn, I feel like a real man again !”
So glad my menopause came in handy
Simply precious
We are still laughing about it

Standard